The Museum of Lennox and Addington provides insights into everyday life from the late eighteenth through to present day and focuses particularly on telling the story of Lennox and Addington County.The mission of the Museum of Lennox and Addington is to preserve the ongoing story of the County of Lennox and Addington from prehistoric times to the present; to preserve the legal record of the County, its constituent municipalities and outside agencies; to showcase and tell the story of our county community for its citizens and visitors; and to contribute to making Lennox and Addington County a significant tourist destination.The Museum, an 1864 limestone building, was, until 1971, the county jail. The museum's rotating exhibits highlight local history from prehistoric times to the present. The artifacts collection contains approximately 10,000 items including prehistory artifacts, furniture, clothing, toys, glass, ceramics, tools and household goods. In 2012, the museum assumed operations for the Macpherson House, an 1826 historic house. This historic setting is used to tell the story of our county pre-confederation and is open in the summer only. The Museum houses a substantial archival holdings documenting county history, as well as genealogical files for those who want to find their personal connection to the past. The archival reading room is accessible by appointment only.