The Lower Burial Ground Restoration Society

The Lower Burial Ground at Queen and Montreal Streets, on the grounds of St. Paul’s Anglican Church (1845), was laid out in 1783 by Royal Engineers in anticipation of the arrival of Loyalists at Cataraqui after the American Revolution. Many of the early citizens of Kingston are buried here, the prominent and regular people, including black slaves brought by the Loyalists, sailors of the Lakes and American prisoners of the War of 1812. It is a unique cemetery in the middle of the city containing fine stone monuments such as the Forsythe, the Cartwright, and the Stuart Lair, unique in North America, the burial place for the Rev. Dr. John Stuart, his son Archdeacon George Okill Stuart and their families.

Donations to restoration projects accepted:

137 Queen St.
Free Admission (donations accepted)